Dutch Ceylon was a governorate established in present-day Sri Lanka by the Dutch East India Company. It existed from 1640 until 1796.

In the early 17th century, Sri Lanka was partly ruled by the Portuguese and the Sinhala 900px-Flag_of_the_Dutch_East_India_Company.svgCoat_of_arms_Ceylon_dutch_colonyKingdom, who were constantly battling each other. Although the Portuguese were not winning the war, their rule was rather burdensome to the people of those areas controlled by them. While the Dutch were engaged in a long war of independence from Spanish rule, the Sinhalese king (the king of Kandy) invited the Dutch to help defeat the Portuguese. The Dutch interest in Ceylon was to have a united battle front against the Iberians at that time.



Dutch Period (1640 AD – 1796 AD)
Coins used in the Dutch Period
West freaseland



1606-1699 – Lion Daalder

The Leeuwen-daalder was minted to facilitate foreign trade in the 17th Century and is more commonly known as the Lion Dollar.

Leeuwen Daalder-1644


1695 Dutch Kali Negapatnam copper Dump

Negapatnam – Two Stiver (Double Stuivers )KM#29

Negapatnam Double Stuivers

Negapatnam – Stiver KM#28

Negapatnam - Stiver

Negapatnam – Duit – Half Stiver KM#26

Negapatnam - Half Stiver



1747 Holland Hollandia Dutch gold ducat coin

Netherlands Gold Ducat was dispatched to Ceilon during the 18th century Dutch occupation of the Island’s Coast.

1747 Holland Hollandia Dutch gold ducat coin

1644 – Batavia VOC 1/2 Stuiver

Dutch East Indies (VOC) – Batavia – 1644 – Half StuiverBatavia - 1644 - Half Stuiver

1785 Bonk bar – Colombo VOC 4 3/4 Stuiver


Half copper Larins in the shape of small bars with two round countermarks on either end and declare them current at the rate of 4 3/4 Indian Stuivers or Half Larin.

Bonk bar

Original Colombo VOC 4 3/4 Stuiver

Bonk bar1

Forgery – Fake

1761-1782 – Mysore Gold Haidar Ali Pagoda

1761-1782 – Mysore Gold Haidar Ali Pagoda

Gold Pagoda

1646-1794 – Dutch VOC Pulicat copper Dump

1646-1794 – Dutch VOC Pulicat copper Dump


1747-1784 Dutch East India Company, Gold Pagoda, Negapatnam

The New Negapatnam pagoda was introduced in 1747 with the same general design of the older pagoda first struck by the Nawab of Arcot in the Porto Novo Mint. They were known in Lanka in Sinhala asParangipatta. They were also minted by the Dutch in Tuticorin and Colombo Mint(1783-1785).

Gold Pagoda, Negapatnam

178Z-1786 Dove on mango tree – One Duit

VOC Tin Bazarucos of Doit from Dutch Mint of Colombo issued first in 178Z. under Resolution of 1785 Oct 20 to overcome the shortage of small change. The graphic arms of Colombo. The dove in latin iscolumbus.

Dove on mango tree - One Duit

1764-1794 – Titucorin/Colombo Mint Gold Porto Novo Pagoda

The New Negapatnam pagoda known in Lanka in Sinhala as Parangipatta were minted by the Dutch in Colombo during 1783-1785 of the same design type as Tuticorin where they were minted during [1764,1787-1794]


Gold Porto Novo Pagoda

India – British – Madras – Rupee

1/96 Rupee (½ Dub) 1794-1797
1/96 Rupee (½ Dub) 1797
1/48 Rupee, Dub 1794
1/48 Rupee, Dub 1794
1/48 Rupee, Dub 1797
east 48 1794
east 48 1794-2east 48 1797east 96 1794east 96 1797

Copper ½-Stuiver


Silver ½-Abbasi or Mahmoudi (c.1650-1700)

Silver ½-Abbasi


(Scholten 1286; KM 48)

Copper Stuiver 1783, 1784, 1785, Colombo (KM 26)

Copper Stuiver (3), 1783, 1784, 1785, Colombo (KM 26)

Silver Fanam of 6-Stuivers

Silver Fanam of 6-Stuivers

VOC, Lead Duit, 1790

VOC, Lead Duit, 1790

Silver Fanam of 2-Stuivers

Silver Fanam of 2-Stuivers